You can early vote now. You should probably get on that. Here are the endorsements.

The 2014 primaries are here, and the primaries are where many races are determined. If you enjoy the democratic process, it’s time to man up.

Here are the times and locations to early vote (PDF). There are three locations, and you have until next Saturday at 1 p.m. to make use of one of them.

Here is the list of candidates (PDF). You can find the ballot you’ll be using here.

There are three partisan political “groups” that endorse candidates in Durham, in addition to the Indy Week newspaper. The Indy Week, Durham People’s Alliance, and the Committee on the Affairs of Black People are all left-leaning. The Friends of Durham is centrist.

Below is the rundown of endorsements thus far. Note that the Indy offers endorsements for each party’s primaries even though it will eventually endorse only Democrats in the general election, which made creating this table much more time consuming than it needed to be.

Indy Week Durham People’s Alliance Durham Committee on the Affairs of Black People Friends of Durham
US Senate (D)
Kay Hagan Kay Hagan Kay Hagan
US Senate (R)
Ted Alexander
US Senate (L)
Sean Haugh
US House 1 (D) GK Butterfield GK Butterfield GK Butterfield
US House 1 (R) Arthur Rich
US House 6 (D) Bruce Davis Laura Fjeld Bruce Davis
US House 6 (R) Zack Matheny
US House 13 (D) Brenda Cleary Virginia Conlon
State Supreme Court (NP) Robin Hudson Robin Hudson Robin Hudson
NC Senate 22 (R) Herman Joubert
NC House 50 (R) W Lewis Hannah Jr.
Durham DA (D) Brian Aus Roger Echols Roger Echols Brian Aus
District Court 14 – Gordon seat (NP) Nancy Gordon Nancy Gordon Fred Battaglia Jr. (???)
District Court 14 – Walker seat (NP) Henry Pruette Doretta Walker Doretta Walker
Board of Education – District 1 (NP) Mike Lee Mike Lee Mike Lee Mike Lee
Board of Education – District 2 (NP) Sendolo Diaminah Sendolo Diaminah Donald A Hughes Terrence Ray Scarborough
Board of Education – District 3 (NP) Matt Sears Matt Sears Deborah L Bryson (???) Lisa Gordon Stella
Board of Education – District 4 (NP) Natalie Beyer Natalie Beyer Natalie Beyer
Sheriff (D) Mike Andrews Mike Andrews Clarence Birkhead Mike Andrews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *